Weston Focus

News for Weston-super-Mare Central Ward from local councillors Mike Bell and Robert Payne : serving you on North Somerset Council and Weston-super-Mare Town Council Learn more

View more tweets

View more tweets

North Somerset Council slammed for ignoring Weston’s parking problems

by mikebell on 30 November, 2018

A six-person committee set up to review parking restrictions is comprised entirely of North Somerset councillors from wards where there are no charges for on-street parking.

Council leader Nigel Ashton chairs the committee comprised of Conservative councillors Jan Barber, Chris Blades, Peter Crew, David Pasley, and Kate Stowey.

Of the six councillors engaged in the working group, only Cllr Crew represents a ward connected in the Mercury area where drivers face on-street charges.

At a meeting of Weston Town Council on Monday, in which a response to the ongoing parking review was proposed, as well as suggestions for changes to parking in Weston including reducing the cost and complexity of parking in the town and creating residents zones, North Somerset was slammed by disgruntled councillors who believe Weston is being ignored.

Weston-super-Mare Central Ward Cllr Mike Bell said: “All those reviewing parking are Conservatives, despite repeated promises that the review would be cross-party. Just one Councillor from Worle and the rest from Clevedon, Nailsea and Portishead. No consultation with residents or businesses. No published minutes of meetings and all discussed behind closed doors and in secret. I should be shocked, but we all know North Somerset is run like North Korea.”

   1 Comment

One Response


    Nothing surprise me any more with this council .roll on the elections in may lets kick these people out of office.j all ways have voted labour.but not now we need all the laubour votes to vote lib dem.and not share the vote. Something has to change in this town. as its going to the dogs

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>